Kevin McCarthy Selects His Five Republicans for January 6 Committee


House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) speaks about the formation of a select committee to investigate the January 6 Capitol riot a news conference in Washington, D.C., July 1, 2021. (Jonathan Ernst/Reuters)

House minority leader Kevin McCarthy has selected the five Republicans to sit on the select committee investigating the Capitol riot that is scheduled to convene for its first hearing on July 27, securing GOP representation on the panel that was recently appointed.

The Republican spots afforded by the House resolution will be filled by Representatives Jim Banks of Indiana, Jim Jordan of Ohio, Rodney Davis of Illinois, Kelly Armstrong of North Dakota and freshman Troy Nehls of Texas, with Banks serving as the ranking Republican, McCarthy informed CNN.

While Banks, Jordan, and Nehls voted to challenge the 2020 presidential-election results in battleground states Arizona and Pennsylvania, citing irregularities and potential fraud, Armstrong and Davis joined the majority bloc to certify the election outcome and declare Joe Biden the winner.

You Might Like